Proj 1, Ex. 3: Study of Several Trees

Whilst I was sitting in the woodland two things struck me – one was the range of greens in layers from the tree canopy down to the undergrowth and the second was the way the light was dappled.  I therefore decided to capture this in oil pastels on a textured paper.  I kept to a very loose style only picking out a couple of the tree trunks, avoiding adding any real detail of the individual plants and trees to order to concentrate on the effect of the light and colours.

1.3.1

I am quite satisfied with the result and think I have captured what I set out to achieve.  It is a long way removed from my normal style of precise and detailed drawings but I am trying to try different methods and styles in order to explore my creativity more.

Following my last assignment my tutor suggested I try to use charcoal more and also to rub back with an eraser to create highlights.  I found this small patch of woodland where the tree trunks did not have any noticeable bark, were a silver-grey in colour, overall were quite bare (not the norm for this time of year) and quite strange shapes.  I used charcoal for this drawing, using the grain of the textured paper to create the ground and background foliage.  I rubbed in the charcoal for the tree trunks to create that smoother surface and then adding back in small patches of texture.  I used the point, edge and sides of the charcoal to create different marks.    I finally added the highlights to the sides of the trunks using a pencil eraser.

1.3.2

I am happy with the resultant picture as I think it captures the overall feeling I had of this patch of woodland and I fairly successfully used a medium I would hesitate to use before undertaking this drawing.

Author: gbond1104

Studying Drawing 1 as my first course on a BA (Hons) in Painting

Leave a Reply

