Research: Henry Moore

Due my feedback from Assignment One my tutor asked me to research the drawings of Henry Moore.  I choose to mainly concentrate at this stage on his World War II Shelter Drawings as I have always admired these drawings.  After seeing a couple of the original drawings at Tate Britain and Pallant House Gallery and also reading a couple of books on Moore, I made notes in my sketchbook.

At the same time I have just visited Herculaneum, Italy and decided that the skeletons in the Boat Sheds looked like the people in the Shelter Drawings so decided to try a couple of drawings in the style of Moore using pencil, pen & ink, wax crayon and a watercolour wash.  .  The last two drawings are of two people having lunch at Borough Market, the first just the pen & ink outline with the second adding wax resist and a watercolour wash.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: gbond1104

Studying Drawing 1 as my first course on a BA (Hons) in Painting

Leave a Reply

