JMW Turner – Adventures in Colour

I visited this exhibition in January at Turner Contemporary, Margate.  The exhibition explored Turner’s use of colour, his experimental techniques, his engagement with colour theory and use of new paint pigments.  I was hoping to see his watercolours and sketchbooks and was not disappointed.  I wrote about two of the pictures in my sketchbook.

Exh1

One of the things that came out of this exhibition for me was how the simple nature of the marks in his sketches would still make the image recognisable and how he could capture the atmosphere of the place by his use of colour.  These are both aspects I need to incorporate in my own sketches in order to remove that feeling that I need to produce a perfect image of the visual appearance.

Author: gbond1104

Studying Drawing 1 as my first course on a BA (Hons) in Painting

1 thought on “JMW Turner – Adventures in Colour”

  1. I would love to learn more about Turner, I keep meaning to find some books and watch the Timothy Spall film. I really like your watercolour postcard, the colours are so vibrant and rich and I like how the forms edge on the abstract.
    It was good to meet you yesterday at the TVG meeting and see some of your work. The paintings on the random backgrounds were so lovely and I can still see them now. I’m trying to befriend (for want of a better word) drawing after an unhappy start and finish at school and your work makes me want to continue trying. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

