Reflection Against Assessment Criteria

Demonstration of Technical and Visual Skills 

Materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness, design and compositional skills

I have experimented with materials and techniques in this assignment and the final submission is outside my safe zone, however, I recognise I need to expand experimentation even further.  I have tried to be creative in not just submitting a drawing of the visual appearance of the objects but instead have used the still-life set-up to spark thoughts about what are the important aspects of playing a clarinet.  My biggest issue in visual awareness has been keeping a sketchbook as I find they intimidate me and I therefore sketch on individual pieces of paper.  However, as my confidence has grown during Unit 1 and I have realised it is not about making a ’perfect’ drawing, I have decided to take the plunge and start keeping a couple of different sized sketchbooks and draw in them much more often, which should improve my visual awareness and composition skills.

Quality of Outcome

Content, application of knowledge, presentation of work in a coherent manner, with discernment

The quality of the outcome is not as high as I would have liked.  I struggled with using some of the techniques which I am not used to, such as collage, and this had a knock-on effect on the quality of the final image.  Also, I have tried to avoid my tendency to produce a ‘perfect’ drawing so have deliberately not kept re-drawing the images in order to achieve this aim and therefore hopefully have kept in more of ‘me’.   I think I needed to greatly expand the preparation stages for the assignment to explore different composition, techniques, etc before deciding on my final submission piece.

Demonstration of Creativity

Imagination, experimentation, invention, personal voice

In this assessment I started with depicting the visual appearance of the objects before moving onto making a Surrealist inspired landscape.  Before starting this course this is an area I never would have even considered (I drew mainly from photographs prior to starting this course) so I do feel I am trying to use my imagination and be experimental in both the exercises and the final submission piece.  At this stage in the course I am not sure what my personal voice is so hopefully by working my way through the course I will start to discover this aspect.  I want to be open to new processes, ideas, and styles etc., in order to develop as an artist rather than use the course to validate an existing point of view.

Context

Reflection, research

I have a tendency to over analyse and be very self critical of my work leading to a loss in confidence and have tried to avoid this.  However, in reviewing my posts I realise I have probably not got the balance right and need to write more, both about the process and reflection on the outcome.  I come from a science and business background so find it difficult to write about a creative process as I tend to be too concise and matter of fact.  I have started to read the books and attended a number of exhibitions.  However, I have struggled with writing these up on my on-line learning log; it is format I do not particularly like or find interesting.  I have therefore decided that, whilst I will keep the on-line learning log to show my process against the exercises and the assignments, from the commencement of Unit 2 I will also keep a hard physical learning log to keep a record of research, exhibitions etc as I will be able to include my notes, annotate postcards/photographs, etc and hopefully be more creative in how I respond to both research and my own work.

Author: gbond1104

Studying Drawing 1 as my first course on a BA (Hons) in Painting

Leave a Reply

